By Gordon T. Fisherman

CHERRY CITY- A bill to allow self-service gas in several rural counties will land on the governor’s desk after passing the state Senate Tuesday.

The bill allows people to pump their own gas at all hours in Malheur, Union, Wasco, Hood River, Jefferson, Crook, Baker, Morrow, Lake, Grant, Harney, Wallowa, Gilliam, Sherman, and Wheeler counties. Drivers in Tillamook, Curry and Clatsop counties would be allowed self-service fueling between 6 p.m. and 6 a.m.

Gas stations with convenience stores would still have to offer full-service fueling during business hours.

The bill passed 26-1, with Senate Majority Leader Ginny Burdick, D-Portland, the only “no” vote. — Gordon T. Fisherman

Published by Illya King

Creator of Totally Naked Man ( and The Schlub ( Web Developer and Designer. Pronouns: His, him, he

%d bloggers like this: